2022 Scholarship Recipients & Youth Tour Representatives


2022 scholarship recipients

Pioneer Connect is proud to recognize and announce accomplished students who have been awarded a college scholarship for the 2022-2023 academic year.

Since 1999, Pioneer Connect has awarded over 300 scholarships worth more than $340,000, showing significant financial dedication to the communities and members it serves.

Each year, Pioneer Connect opens its scholarship application to young adults beginning or continuing their college journey. Interested students choose either the Academic Scholarship or the Community College Scholarship, based on their higher education goals and plans. Pioneer Connect’s Board of Directors then reviews and awards the scholarships.

Congratulations to this years 2022-2023 recipients!

Academic Scholarship Recipients 

Name High School College Attending 
Amey McDaniel Philomath HS George Fox University
Casey McDaniel Newport HS OSU 
Sarah McDanielWaldport HS George Fox University
Alek Russell Philomath HS Boise State
Zakcrye HolseyWaldport High George Fox University
Marcos GarciaPhilomath HS OSU
Danika Simon Waldport High Long Island University Post

Community College Scholarship Recipients

Name High School College Attending 
Jeremy Schaffer Philomath HS LBCC 

As the cost of higher education continues to rise in Oregon and across the nation, Pioneer Connect remains committed to supporting local students and their college aspirations with these annual scholarships. Those interested in applying can visit our application each January when it opens.

2022 youth tour representatives

Additionally, we are proud to announce our 2022 Youth Tour winners, Ingrid Hellesto and Micah Matthews. These two local students represented Pioneer Connect in Washington D.C., where they learned about rural telecommunications. The tour provides a forum for teens to meet and interact with their peers from other rural communities, as well as key legislative, regulatory, and government staff. Watch for 2023’s application here.

Youth Tour Winners

  • Ingrid Hellesto
  • Micah Matthews